August 1, 2021

The Cure’s Robert Smith remixes a Deftones track

Posted on December 3, 2020 at 12:01 PM

Through Mathieu David

Here is a new version of Teenager.

The American alternative metal band Deftones released a remix of his track Teenager made by Robert Smith, singer and guitarist of The Cure. You can discover this new version via the player above.

Deftones singer Chino Moreno told UK magazine NME:

It’s amazing to hear Robert rework one of our songs and put his voice in it. If I had been told that when I was 15, I would have lost my mind and I wouldn’t have believed it. It’s a dream.

This version will be included in Black Stallion, a disc included in the reissue of the album White Pony, scheduled for December 11.

This disc also celebrated its 20th anniversary this year. The group had returned to it and had discussed what had marked him when he left. You can find the words of Chino Moreno, Abe Cunningham and Frank Delgado collected by OUI FM here.

The reissue of White Pony is available for pre-order

deftones - white pony black stallionHere is the tracklist and the cover:

  1. witch
  2. Digital Bath
  3. Elite
  4. RX Queen
  5. Street Carp
  6. Teenager
  7. Knife Party
  8. Korea
  9. Passenger
  10. Change (In the House of Flies)
  11. Pink Maggit
  1. Enchantress (Clams Casino remix)
  2. Digital Bath (DJ Shadow remix)
  3. Elite (Blanck Mass remix)
  4. Rx Queen (SALVA remix)
  5. Street Carp (Phantogram remix)
  6. Teenager (Robert Smith remix)
  7. Knife Prty (Purity Ring remix)
  8. Korea (Trevor Jackson remix)
  9. Passenger (Mike Shinoda remix)
  10. Change (In the House of Flies) (Tourist remix)
  11. Pink Maggit (Squarepusher remix)

2020 has also been a busy year for Deftones, as they released Ohms, their brand new album, in September. It includes the titles Genesis and Ohms.

deftones 2020