August 5, 2021

List of countries that have to comply with isolation in Portugal approved

O Government informed this Wednesday that the list of countries whose citizens, who enter continental territory, have to comply with a period of prophylactic isolation of 14 days, at home or in a place indicated by health authorities, has been approved.

According to a note released this morning by the Ministry of Internal Administration (MAI), “passengers on flights originating in South Africa, Brazil, India and now also Nepal, are still only able to make essential trips and have to comply with the period of prophylactic isolation” on arrival in Portugal.

The rule, published in an order in the Diário da República, has been in force since Tuesday and will take effect until 23:59 on June 27, which can be revised “at any time, depending on the evolution of the epidemiological situation”.

The tutelage also recalls that “with the exception of the Member States of the European Union and countries associated with the Schengen area”, only essential trips to third countries are allowed.

This rule does not apply even to the list of administrative countries and regions – Australia, South Korea, Israel, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, Thailand, People’s Republic of China, Hong Kong and Macau – not ao UK or to USA.

The tutelage also recalls that essential trips are “those intended to allow the transit or entry into Portugal of citizens for professional, study, family reunion reasons, for health reasons or for humanitarian reasons”.

The approved measures are equally applicable to the embarkation and disembarkation of passengers and crew of cruise ships in ports located in mainland national territory.

Also Read: Non-essential Travel to and from the US Allowed

Always be the first to know.
Fifth consecutive year Consumer Choice for Online Press.
Download our free App.

Google Play Download