August 5, 2021

[Euro] In a crazy match, Spain won against Croatia (5-3), Sarabia scorer

As expected the PSG striker Pablo Sarabia had started well the eighth finals of Euro 2020 opposing from 6 pm Spain to Croatia in Copenhagen. Spain coach Luis Enrique made two changes to his starting XI: Gaya was preferred over Jordi Alba and Ferran Torres over Gerard Moreno. La Roja, who finished the group stage well with a 5-0 against Slovakia, wanted to get rid of the last World Cup finalist. The winner of this meeting will face France or Switzerland in the first quarter-final in St. Petersburg on July 2.

Dominated, the Croats opened the scoring by taking advantage of the huge error of Unai Simón following a back pass from Pedri (1-0, 20th). But La Roja could count on Pablo Sarabia to equalize just before the break (1-1, 40th). Dominators, the Spaniards failed to materialize their superiority in the game in this first act. In the second half, César Azpilicueta logically scored the second goal of his selection with a header (2-1, 57th). The Chelsea player also scored his first goal for Spain. Twenty minutes later Ferran Torres gave the 2012 European champions a comfortable lead (3-1, 77th). However, the incoming Mislav Orsic gave Croatia hope in the 85th minute (2-3). Then at the end of additional time, Mario Pasalic snatched extra time for the 2018 vice world champions (3-3, 90th + 2) on a pass from Orsic. In overtime, Alvaro Morata gave his team back the advantage with a good volley (4-3, 100th) then Mikel Oyarzabal scored La Roja’s fifth goal three minutes later (5-3, 103rd). In this crazy match, Spain defeated Croatia (5-3) and will face the winner of the match between France and Switzerland.

Croatia-Spain line-up

Monday June 28 at 6 p.m. (beIN Sports 1) – Round of 16 of the European Championship at Parken Stadium in Copenhagen (Denmark) – Referee: Cuneyt Cakir – Video assistant referee (VAR): Bastian Dankert (Germany)

  • Croatia : Livaković – Juranović (Brekalo, 74e), Vida, Caleta-Car, Gvardiol – Modrić (Ivanusec, 114e), Brozović, Kovačić (Budimir, 79e – Vlašić (Pasalic, 79e) – Rebić (Orsic, 67e), Petković (Kramaric , 46e)
  • Spain : Unai Simón – Azpilicueta, Eric García (Pau Torres, 71e), Laporte, Gaya (Alba, 77e) – Koke (Ruiz, 77e), Busquets (Rodri, 101e), Pedri – Ferrán Torres (Oyarzabal, 88e), Morata, Sarabia (Olmo, 71e)