July 27, 2021

Dylan Teuns wins the eighth stage of the Tour marked by super attack by Pogacar – Tour

Belgian Dylan Teuns (Bahrain Victorious) won the eighth stage of the Tour, after an escape in the last kilometers to the most direct pursuers of the day: Izaguirre Insausti (Astana), Michael Woods (Israel Start-up Nation) and Tadej Pogacar (UAE Emirates ), which finished in the following three places. The Slovenian, current title holder, made a stupendous feat, with a devastating attack 32 km from the goal that earns him the yellow jersey.

The Bahrain Victorious cyclist covered the 150.8 kilometers, which included three first-class counts, in 03:54.41 hours, 0.44 minutes less than Spaniard Izaguirre Insausti (Astana) and 0.47 minutes less than third-placed Michael Woods (Israel Start-up Nation). Tadej Pogacar cut the line shortly thereafter, more precisely two seconds after Woods, and ended the stage with the coveted yellow jersey.


Pogacar attack without pity or pity

Thanks to an attack more than 30 kilometers from the goal, and to the debacle of the Dutchman Mathieu Van der Poel, who ‘sinked’ in the general classification, the defending champion reached the yellow card today, leading the standings against Belgium’s Wout van Aert (Jumbo -Visma), who kept second, now at 01.48 minutes, and Kazakh Alexey Lutsenko (Astana), who moved up to third, at 04.38.

On Sunday, the peloton faces an alpine journey of 144.9 kilometers between Cluses and Tignes, where the first high finish of the 108th edition of the French race is installed.

– Classification of the eighth stage:

1. Dylan Teuns (Bahrain Victorious), 03:54.41 horas. (média: 38,554 km/h).
2. Ion Izagirre, Esp (Astana), 44 seconds behind.
3. Michael Woods, Can (Israel Start-Up Nation), a 47.
4. Tadej Pogacar, Slo (UAE Emirates), and 49.
5. Wout Poels, Hol (Bahrain Victorious), a 02.33 minutos.
6. Simon Yates, GB (BikeExchange), a 02.43.
7. Aurélien Paret Painter, Fra (AG2R Citroën), at 03.03.
8. Guillaume Martin, Fra (Cofidis), mt
9. Mattia Cattaneo, Ita (Deceuninck-QuickStep), a 04.07.
10. Jonas Vingegaard, Din (Jumbo-Visma), a 04.09.
11. Alexey Lutsenko, Caz (Astana), m.t.
12. Enric Mas, Esp (Movistar), mt
13. Richard Carapaz, Ecu (INEOS), m.t.
14. Rigoberto Úran, Col (EF Education-Nippo), mt
21. Wout van Aert, Bel (Jumbo-Visma), a 05.45.
37. Julian Alaphilippe, Fra (Deceuninck-QuickStep), a 18.55.
38. Ruben Guerreiro, Por (EF Education-Nippo), mt
41. Vincenzo Nibali, Ita (Trek-Segafredo), and 21.47.
42. Miguel Ángel López, Col (Movistar), mt
44. Mathieu van der Poel, Hol (Alpecin-Fenix), mt
86. Rui Costa, By (UAE Emirates), at 34.46.
156. Chris Froome, GB (Israel Start-Up Nation), a 35.01.
174. Geraint Thomas, GB (INEOS), m.t.
175. Primoz Roglic, Slo (Jumbo-Visma), mt

– Overall classification, after the eighth stage:

1. Tadej Pogacar, Slo (UAE Emirates), 29: 38.25 hours.
2. Wout van Aert, Bel (Jumbo-Visma), a 01.48 minutos.
3. Alexey Lutsenko, Caz (Astana), a 04.38.
4. Rigoberto Úran, Col (EF Education-Nippo), a 04.46.
5. Jonas Vingegaard, Din (Jumbo-Visma), at 05.00
6. Richard Carapaz, Ecu (INEOS), a 05.01.
7. Wilco Kelderman, Hol (Bora-hansgrohe), a 05.13.
8. Enric Mas, Esp (Movistar), at 05.15.
9. David Gaudu, Fra (Groupama-FDJ), a 05.52.
10. Pello Bilbao, Esp (Bahrain Victorious), a 06.41.
17. Simon Yates, GB (BikeExchange), a 12.13.
23. Mathieu van der Poel, Hol (Alpecin-Fenix), at 17.20.
24. Julian Alaphilippe, Fra (Deceuninck-QuickStep), a 18.51.
26. Vincenzo Nibali, Ita (Trek-Segafredo), 21.32.
32. Miguel Ángel López, Col (Movistar), at 26.15.
45. Geraint Thomas, GB (INEOS), a 36.03.
46. ​​Ruben Guerrero, Por (EF Education-Nippo), at 36.12.
51. Primoz Roglic, Slo (Jumbo-Visma), 39.45.
111. Rui Costa, By (UAE Emirates), at 01:03.48 hours.
166. Chris Froome, GB (Israel Start-Up Nation), a 01:21.12.