August 5, 2021

Prince’s Famous 2010 Lost Album ‘Welcome 2 America’ Coming Out This Year – Listen To The Title Track

Prince’s famous “lost” album, “Welcome 2 America”, will finally be released this year. Check out the title track of the album below.

Recorded in 2010, the album was to be released the following year in conjunction with the legend’s eponymous US tour, which went ahead even without the album.

After sitting in a vault for a decade, ‘Welcome 2 America’ will finally be released on July 30 via Legacy Recordings.

The album deals with race relations, political division and social justice, and Prince said of the album in 2010: “The world is riddled with misinformation. George Orwell’s vision of the future is here. We need 2 to stand firm in faith in the tough times ahead. “

Listen to the title track below, which was first performed live in December 2010 during a show at Madison Square Garden in New York.

This weekend (April 11) the premiere of “Welcome 2 America” ​​will be presented in a segment of the CBS program 60 Minutes, in which its creation and the decade of waiting for its launch is recounted.

The deluxe version of the new album will include the regular 12-track album on vinyl and CD, along with a previously unreleased film from Prince’s concert at The Forum in Inglewood, California on April 28, 2011.

Check out the boxset and full deluxe tracklist below, and pre-order the album here.

Welcome to america

1. Welcome 2 America

2. Running Game (Son of a Slave Master)

3. Born 2 Die

4. 1000 Light Years From Here

5. Hot Summer

6. Stand Up and B Strong (Soul Asylum cover)

7. Check The Record

8. Same Page, Different Book

9. When She Comes

10. 1010 (Rin Tin Tin)

11. Yes

12. One Day We All B Free

‘Prince – Welcome 2 America (Live at The Forum, April 28, 2011)’

1. Joy In Repetition

2. Brown Skin (cover de India.Arie)

3. 17 Days

4. Shhh

5. Controversy

6. Theme from “Which Way Is Up” (Stargard’s version)

7. What Have You Done For Me Lately (versión de Janet Jackson)

8. Partyman

9. Make You Feel My Love (versión de Bob Dylan)

10. Misty Blue (Eddy Arnold cover)

11. Let’s Go Crazy

12. Delirious

13. 1999

14. Little Red Corvette

15. Purple Rain

16. The Bird (version of The Time – composition of Prince)

17. Jungle Love (version of The Time – composition by Prince)

18. A Bizarre Love (version by Sheila E. – composition by Prince)

19. Kiss

20. Play That Funky Music (cover de Wild Cherry)

21. Inglewood Swinging (versión de “Hollywood Swinging” de Kool & the Gang)

22. Fantastic Voyage (Lakeside version)

23. More Than This (versión de Roxy Music)

Meanwhile, Prince fans have been invited to Paisley Park this month to commemorate the fifth anniversary of the legendary singer’s death.

A statement read: “On the fifth anniversary of the passing of the incomparable Prince, Paisley Park, his creative home and sanctuary, opens its doors for fans to pay tribute and celebrate his life.

“Guests are also welcome to leave flowers, souvenirs and other commemorative items in front of the Symbol of Love statue outside the main entrance to Paisley Park.”