July 26, 2021

The Rolling Stones collect the blues masterpieces

Tomorrow, November 9, BMG releases “Confessin ‘The Blues,” a double album featuring the blues masterpieces selected by the Rolling Stones. “If you don’t know the blues … it doesn’t make sense to pick up a guitar and play rock and roll,” says Keith Richards. The proceeds from the sale of the album will go to the Willie Dixon’s Blues Heaven Foundation.

“All of these artists had a notable impact on the early Rolling Stones, either because of Keith’s guitar playing or Mick’s voice and lyrics,” the press release reads.

“’Confessin’ The Blues’ brings together the best bluesmen of all time and selects the masterpieces of blues. The tracklist has been chosen by the musicians of The Rolling Stones and will hit all stores on November 9.

“‘Confessin’ The Blues ‘includes songs by the great Blues pioneers, such as Howlin’ Wolf, John Lee Hooker, Elmore James, Muddy Waters, Chuck Berry, Big Bill Broonzy or Robert Johnson”.

“Confessin ‘The Blues” track listing:

CD 1
01. ‘Rollin’ Stone’ (Muddy Waters)
02. ‘Red Rooster’ (Howlin’ Wolf)
03. ‘Boogie Children’ (John Lee Hooker)
04. ‘Hate to See You Go’ (Little Walter)
05. ‘Little Queenie’ (Chuck Berry)
06. ‘You Can’t Judge a Book By Its Cover’ (Bo Diddley)
07. ‘Ride ‘Em On Down’ (Eddie Taylor)
08. ‘I’m A King Bee’ (Slim Harpo)
09. ‘All Your Love’ (Magic Sam)
10. ‘Dust My Broom’ (Elmore James)
11. ‘Just Your Fool’ (Little Walter)
12. ‘I Want to Be Loved’ (Muddy Waters)
13. ‘Key to the Highway’ (Big Bill Broonzy)
14. ‘Love in Vain Blues’ (Robert Johnson)
15. ‘You Gotta Move’ (Mississippi Fred McDowell)
16. ‘Bright Lights, Big City’ (Jimmy Reed)
17. ‘Worried Life Blues’ (Big Maceo)
18. ‘Everybody Knows About My Good Thing (Part 1)’ (Little Johnny Taylor)
19. ‘Commit a Crime’ (Howlin’ Wolf)
20. ‘I Can’t Quit You Baby’ (Otis Rush)
21. ‘Confessin’ the Blues’ (Jay McShann & Walter Brown)

CD 2
01. ‘Just Like I Treat You’ (Howlin’ Wolf)
02. ‘I Got to Go’ (Little Walter)
03. ‘Carol’ (Chuck Berry)
04. ‘Mona’ (Bo Diddley)
05. ‘I Just Want to Make Love to You’ (Muddy Waters)
06. ‘Blues Before Sunrise’ (Elmore James)
07. ‘Bad Boy’ (Eddie Taylor)
08. ‘Boogie Children’ (Boy Blue)
09. ‘Little Rain’ (Jimmy Reed)
10. ‘Stop Breakin’ Down Blues’ (Robert Johnson)
11. ‘The Prodigal Son’ (Reverend Robert Wilkins)
12. ‘Hoodoo Blues’ (Lightnin’ Slim)
13. ‘Don’t Stay Out All Night’ (Billy Boy Arnold)
14. ‘Craw Dad’ (Bo Diddley)
15. ‘Suzie Q’ (Dale Hawkins)
16. ‘Down the Road Apiece’ (Amos Milburn)
17. ‘Little Baby’ (Howlin’ Wolf)
18. ‘Blue and Lonesome’ (Little Walter)
19. ‘Rock Me Baby’ (B.B. Baby)
20. ‘Damn Right I’ve Got the Blues’ (Buddy Guy)
21. ‘Mannish Boy’ (Muddy Waters)