August 2, 2021

Foo Fighters, Jay-Z and Tina Turner induct into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame has announced the list of this year’s nominees.

Foo Fighters, Jay-Z and Tina Turner are included in the 2021 cohort alongside The Go-Go’s, Carole King and Todd Rundgren in the “Performers” category.

LL Cool J, Billy Preston and Randy Rhoads will each receive the Musical Excellence Award, while Kraftwerk, Gil Scott-Heron and Charley Patton will be awarded the Early Influence Award.

This year’s induction ceremony will be held at the Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse in Cleveland, Ohio on October 30.

Below you can see the full list of the members of 2021:

Interpreter Category:

Foo Fighters


The Go-Go’s

Carole King

Todd Rundgren

Tina Turner

Ahmet Ertegun Award

Clarence Before

Award for Musical Excellence

LL Cool J

Billy Preston

Randy Rhoads

Early Influence Award


Gil Scott-Heron

Charley Patton

Awards President John Sykes said: “This is our most diverse class in the history of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.

“It truly represents the Hall’s ongoing commitment to honor the artists who have created not just rock and roll, but the sound of youth culture.”

“It’s very difficult to get inducted twice and this year we have three,” Sykes said of the fact that Dave Grohl, Tina Turner and Carole King have been inducted before.

“It is also a rare year in which three of the six inductees are women: Tina, Carole and the Go-Gos,” he continued, “which shows the continued power, relevance and recognition of women in music.”

The Class of 2021 was decided by a voting body comprised of more than 1,000 artists, historians, and members of the music industry, as well as a fan vote on the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame website.

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Class of 2020 was comprised of Depeche Mode, Nine Inch Nails, The Notorious BIG, T. Rex, Whitney Houston, and The Doobie Brothers, but the traditional induction ceremony was replaced by a virtual event. due to coronavirus.