Ballon d’Or: Awarded NOW in the live ticker

The Ballon d’Or awards ceremony, which honors the best footballer of the calendar year, takes place in Paris today. Can Robert Lewandowski take home the trophy this year? Here you can follow the entire event in the live ticker.

This article will be updated continuously. Click here to refresh the page.

Ballon d’Or: Awarded NOW in the live ticker

8:59 p.m .: Now it’s about the first “special prize” of the evening, namely the best goalscorer of the year. Of course, the award goes to Robert Lewandowski, who broke Gerd Müller’s record with 41 goals last season.

8:52 p.m .: In memory of the deceased soccer legends Diego Maradona and Gerd Müller, a video with their career highlights will be played.

8.48 p.m.: The Kopa trophy goes to Pedri (FC Barcelona). It didn’t take the Spaniard long to integrate into his first season. The 19-year-old played 37 league games last season and scored three times. He also established himself in the Spanish national team.

8.47 p.m .: The Kopa Trophy for the best U21 player is awarded first. With Jamal Musiala (FC Bayern Munich) and Florian Wirtz (Bayer Leverkusen), two Germans are among the nominees. There are also two other Bundesliga players, Jude Bellingham and Giovani Reyna (both Borussia Dortmund).

8.46 p.m .: For this, Fabio Cannavaro is now asked to take the stage.

8.45 p.m .: After Pedri and Kylian Mbappe each sign a jersey for the pilot, they leave the stage.

8.42 p.m .: The two cup winners are Formula 1 drivers Fernando Alonso and Esteban Ocon.

8:37 p.m .: The trophies are now carried into the hall by the two men with helmets, while the nominees are presented on the screen.

8:32 p.m .: The show starts. Also this year, Chelsea legend Didier Drogba and Sandy Heribert are directing the event.

8:16 p.m .: Before we finally get started, let’s take a quick look at the ten players who are still fighting for the Ballon d’Or: Jorginho (FC Chelsea), Gianluigi Donnarumma (Paris Saint-Germain), Robert Lewandowski (FC Bayern Munich), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), N’Golo Kanté (FC Chelsea), Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain), Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United), Karim Benzema (Real Madrid), Kylian Mbappé (Paris Saint-Germain) and Mohamed Wrong (FC Liverpool).

8:12 p.m .: Lionel Messi has now also arrived, accompanied by “Messi, Messi” choirs. He and his family climb the red carpet.

8:05 p.m .: Gianluigi Donnarumma, Kylian Mbappe, Luis Suarez, Fabio Cannavaro (Ballon d’Or winner 2006) and other stars are slowly filling the Théâtre du Châtelet. The waiting is going to end soon.

7.45 p.m .: Ballon d’Or initiator Pascal Ferre had claimed in the run-up to the ceremony that Cristiano Ronaldo’s main goal should be to end his career with “more Ballon d’Ors than Messi”. In one Instagram-Post the Portuguese has now sharply criticized Ferre’s statement. “Pascal Ferre lied, he used my name to promote himself and the publication he works for.” here you can learn more about this topic.

We wish to thank the writer of this article for this incredible web content

Ballon d’Or: Awarded NOW in the live ticker