Darts: Stony path for Suljovic at World Cup


Austria’s darts figurehead Mensur Suljovic has a rocky road ahead of him at the World Cup in London (December 15 to January 3). The world number 26. as a seeded player does not start until round two, but there he could meet Alan Soutar. That was the result of the draw on Monday evening.

The Scot Soutar is in good shape right now. This year he reached the round of 16 of the UK Open on the PDC tour and once reached a Pro Tour semi-final. In the first round he faces the Basilian Diogo Portela. It doesn’t get any easier for “The Gentle”, even if they advance.

Round three could lead to a duel with the Portuguese Jose de Sousa, who last defeated Suljovic 5: 4 in the Grand Slam of Darts in the group stage. Other sounding names in the 49-year-old’s Tableau quarter are the Scot Peter Wright (PDC-2.) And the Englishmen Nathan Aspinall (PDC-10.) And Ryan Searle (PDC-15.). Wright had won the final of the Players Championship Finals in Minehead against Searle with 11:10 on Sunday.

The Rodriguez brothers already know opponents at the beginning

While Suljovic has to wait for his first opponent, two other Austrians already know their opponents. Rowby-John Rodriguez will face Welsh Nick Kenny in round one at Alexandra Palace, who snatched one of the last three free places in a qualifying tournament that afternoon. Rusty-Jake Rodriguez faces New Zealander Ben Robb. In the second round, players from England seeded with Luke Humphries (PDC-19.) And Chris Dobey (PDC-30.) Would wait for the brothers.

Darts-WM in London

Second round (“Best of five” sentences):
Gerwyn Price (WAL / 1) Edhouse (ENG) / Wen (CHN)
Kim Huybrechts (BEL/32) Beaton (ENG)/Sherrock (ENG)
Stephen Bunting (ENG/16) Ro. Smith (ENG)/J. Smith (CAN)
Dirk van Duijvenbode (NED/17) Wattimena (NED) / Kolzow (RUS)
Jonny Clayton (WAL/8) Barry (IRL)/Lam (HKG)
Gabriel Clemens (GER/25) Williams (WAL) / Shibata (JPN)
Michael Smith (ENG/9) Meulenkamp (NED) / Ashton (ENG)
Glen Durrant (ENG/24) O’Connor (IRL)/Lauby Jr. (USA)
James Wade (ENG / 4) Kuivenhoven (NED) / KY Smith (AUS)
Vincent van der Voort (NED/29) Hunt (ENG)/Krcmar (CRO)
Joe Cullen (ENG / 13) Evetts (ENG)/Williams (WAL)
Simon Whitlock (AUS / 20) Tailor (NED)/Michael (GRE)
Dimitri Van den Bergh (BEL/5) Hempel (GER) / Schindler (GER)
Devon Petersen (RSA/28) Hughes (ENG) / Ra. Smith (AUS)
Krzysztof Ratajski (POL / 12) Lennon (IRL) / Razma (LAT)
Mervyn King (ENG/21) Joyce (ENG) / Benecky (CZE)
Peter Wright (SCO/2) Meikle (ENG) / Schmutzler (GER)
Damon Heta (AUS / 31) Woodhouse (ENG)/Wilson (ENG)
Ryan Searle (ENG/15) Borland (SCO)/Brooks (ENG)
Danny Noppert (NED / 18) Heaver (ENG)/J. Rodriguez (ESP)
Jose de Sousa (POR/7) Lowe (ENG)/Larsson (SWE)
Mensur Suljovic (AUS/26) Soutar (SCO)/Portela (BRA)
Nathan Aspinall (ENG/10) Murnan (ENG) / Lim (SGP)
Brendan Dolan (NIR/23) Rydz (ENG)/Yamada (JPN)
Michael van Gerwen (NED/3) Barstow (ENG)/Norman Jr. (CAN)
Chris Dobey (ENG/30) Ru.-J. Rodriguez (AUT) / Robb (NZL)
Dave Chisnall (ENG/14) Labanauskas (LTU) / Losper (RSA)
Luke Humphries (ENG/19) Ro.-J. Rodriguez (AUT) / Kenny (WAL)
Gary Anderson (SCO/6) Lewis (ENG)/Campbell (CAN)
Ian White (ENG/27) Mitchell (ENG)/Landman (NED)
Rob Cross (ENG/11) Van Barneveld (NED)/Ilagan (PHI)
Daryl Gurney (NIR/22) Evans (ENG)/Kumar (IND)
First round (“Best of five” sentences):
Ritchie Edhouse (ENG) Wen Lihao (CHN)
Steve Beaton (ENG) Fallon Sherrock (ENG)
Ross Smith (ENG) Jeff Smith (CAN)
Jermaine Wattimena (NED) Boris Kolzow (RUS)
Keane Barry (IRL) Royden Lam (HKG)
Lewy Williams (WAL) Toyokazu Shibata (JPN)
Ron Meulenkamp (NED) Lisa Ashton (ENG)
William O’Connor (IRL) Danny Lauby Jr. (USA)
Maik Kuivenhoven (NED) KY Smith (AUS)
Adam Hunt (ENG) Boris Krcmar (CRO)
Ted Evetts (ENG) Jim Williams (WAL)
Martijn Kleermaker (NED) John Michael (GRE)
Florian Hempel (GER) Martin Schindler (GER)
Jamie Hughes (ENG) Raymond Smith (AUS)
Steve Lennon (IRL) Madars Razma (LAT)
Ryan Joyce (ENG) Roman Benecky (CZE)
Ryan Meikle (ENG) Fabian Schmutzler (GER)
Luke Woodhouse (ENG) James Wilson (ENG)
William Borland (SCO) Bradley Brooks (ENG)
Jason Heaver (ENG) Juan Rodriguez (ESP)
Jason Lowe (ENG) Daniel Larsson (SWE)
Alan Soutar (SCO) Diogo Portela (BRA)
Joe Murnan (ENG) Paul Lim (SGP)
Callan Rydz (ENG) Yuki Yamada (JPN)
Chas Barstow (ENG) John Norman Jr. (CAN)
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez (OR) Ben Robb (NZL)
Darius Labanauskas (LTU) Charles Losper (RSA)
Rowby-John Rodriguez (OR) Nick Kenny (WAL)
Adrian Lewis (ENG) Matt Campbell (CAN)
Scott Mitchell (ENG) Chris Landman (NED)
Raymond van Barneveld (NED) Lourence Ilagan (PHI)
Ricky Evans (ENG) Nitin Kumar (IND)

We would love to thank the author of this article for this amazing material

Darts: Stony path for Suljovic at World Cup