Ferrari Driver Academy, off to the 2022 season: the 9 driver program

The season of young talents who will represent Cavallino on the World Cup tracks has begun: there are 7 boys and 2 girls, Maya Weug and Laura Camps Torras, both of the Girls On Track program with the FIA

The thirteenth season of the Ferrari Driver Academy began today in Maranello, the Cavallino program created in 2009 to prepare the most talented young people to represent Ferrari in Formula 1. This year there are 9 registered drivers, 7 boys and 2 girls: Arthur Leclerc, Dino Beganovic, Maya Weug and James Wharton helped freshmen Oliver Bearman and Rafael Camara, selected in the second edition of the FDA Scouting World Finals, and Laura Camps Torras, the second girl to join the Ferrari Academy after having won the FIA ​​Girls on Track – Rising Stars program. Justified absent Mick Schumacher and Robert Shwartzman, busy with their respective Formula 1 teams, Haas F1 and Ferrari (he will be test driver).

The topics of the workshop

Marco Matassa, FDA director, Team Principal Ferrari, Mattia Binotto, and Racing Director, Laurent Mekies, welcomed the students. This week the drivers will face the traditional Camp of the beginning of the year, based on four days that include workshops on various topics – from race engineering to nutrition, from managing decisions under stress to the latest news related to the FIA ​​sporting regulations – as well as various psychophysical tests. , various sporting activities and a day on karts at Franciacorta Karting together with Tony Kart, historical partner who also supports FDA in its scouting program.

The sports program

The 2022 season will see the 9 drivers of the Ferrari Driver Academy engaged on various fronts. There will be no Ferrari drivers in F2, since it was decided not to continue the relationship with Marcus Armstrong. Callum Ilott was instead granted an “annual license” to allow him to experience the adventure in the American series IndyCar. In Formula 3 there will be Arthur Leclerc in the Prema Team (second season after the two debut victories) and Oliver Bearman, who in 2021 was the ruler of Formula 4, in which he won both the Italian and German titles, with a total of 17 wins and 10 pole positions.

Formula Regional e Formula 4

In Formula Regional will be the Swede Dino Beganovic, also with Team Prema. In Formula 4 the Ferrari drivers will all race mainly in the Italian series, the most competitive, with some forays into selected races of the German one. These are Maya Weug, in the second year in the category, of James Wharton – the Australian winner of the first edition of the FDA Scouting World Finals – and of Rafael Camara – selected in the 2022 edition. Laura Camps Torras, who succeeds Maya Weug in the he roll of honor of the Girls On Track program in collaboration with the FIA, will instead be engaged in karts and will begin to become familiar with the Formula 4 single-seater, traditionally the debut category in single-seaters.

We would love to give thanks to the author of this post for this amazing web content

Ferrari Driver Academy, off to the 2022 season: the 9 driver program